Worried about Corona virus spreading in India? Buy Health Insurance and get coverage now. View Plans
Take informed decisions with IIFL Insurance:

Here’s a Rundown of Other Countries’ COVID-19 Travel Restrictions

Ravikant enjoys traveling. He takes every opportunity that comes his way when it comes to exploring new places and learning about new cultures. He was planning a trip to Italy before the COVID-19 pandemic was imposed all across the globe.

It’s been almost two years since then and he is wondering if he can go on that trip again. However, making that decision is not easy. There are a lot of things that Ravikant has to consider before making a final decision.

For example, he has to know the specifics of the travel restrictions imposed on any country, if he has to be vaccinated to travel, for how long he can travel, or if he could travel to some other country now. You might be facing a situation just like Ravikant.

If you are, then we will help you get some clarity regarding the same today.

Impact of COVID-19 Travel Restrictions Imposed by Countries

Countries have currently imposed quarantines, entry bans, and restrictions in several affected areas due to the pandemic. There are some countries that have imposed global restrictions and local traveling restrictions. The impact of all this is discussed below.

  • Travel restrictions have made it somewhat easier to reduce the spread of the virus
  • These restrictions proved vital at the start and end of the pandemic
  • Economic harm to the tourism industry has been felt
  • Social harm has been experienced by families and individuals who have been unable to travel
  • Business travel has been replaced by lower-cost alternatives like virtual events and teleconferencing

Travel Restrictions in Different Countries

As of now, a quarter of all countries in the world have an active travel ban. Ravikant wants to know more about these travel bans so he can make an informed decision.

  • Africa

All international flights to Algeria have been suspended along with sea travel with Europe. The Gambia has closed its sole land border with Senegal and its airspace to a large majority of flights.

In Madagascar, all flights apart from flights for the purpose of medical evacuations and cargo shipments have been suspended. In Mali, schools are closed, large public gatherings are banned, and flights from affected countries are suspended.

In Mauritius, passengers are not allowed to transit or enter the country. Morocco has also suspended all international passenger flights to and from the country. Sudan has declared a state of emergency and closed all of its land borders and airports.

  • North America and South America

In Canada, all borders are closed to travelers who are not citizens or permanent residents of the country. Some exceptions have been made for diplomats and immediate family members of citizens of the country after a basic health assessment by air operators.

Canada – United States border has also been closed to all non-essential traffic. The Canadian government has also announced an Emergency Order under the Quarantine Act. This means that an individual has to self-isolate for 14 days after entering Canada by air, sea, or land.

An Atlantic Bubble has also been created in which open travel is allowed between certain provinces. All air passengers over the age of 5 years must also show proof of a negative COVID-19 test to enter Canada.

All international borders for Montserrat and Suriname remain closed. Borders are closed to non-residents in Uruguay and Venezuela.

  • Asia

To enter Azerbaijan passengers either require a work permit or special permission from the government. Borders for entering Bhutan are also closed along with Brunei. Foreign nationals are not allowed to enter Cambodia.

Flights to India have been suspended until further notice. The only exception to this rule is flights that carry goods for trade, essential supplies, helpers, cleaners, and other crew members. Indonesia is also closed for all foreign nationals.

Iran is closed to all non-residents. Permits for all tourist, business, and medical visas are also halted by the Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA). In Israel, all citizens and permanent residents are required to enter 14-day home isolation after traveling to any place.

Japan has closed its borders to all non-residents. Kazakhstan has also restricted the entry of most foreign nationals. Commercial flights to Kazakhstan are resumed with limited capacity. The Kazakhstan government has suspended visa-free entry to all foreign nationals.

Kuwait has closed its borders to all non-residents. Laos has also closed its borders to all non-residents. All flights and visa applications are also suspended. In Malaysia, all citizens are prohibited from leaving the country and foreign nationals are prohibited from entering the country.

Malaysians stuck in other countries are allowed to return to their country. For that purpose, airports and airspace have remained open. All non-resident citizens are prohibited to enter Mongolia. Myanmar has also closed its borders to all non-residents.

North Korea has closed its borders to all international tourists. It was one of the first countries in the world to do so. North Korea has also closed and tightened its borders with mainland China.

A tourist ban of the West Bank in Palestine was imposed. In the Philippines, visa issuance and visa-free entry for all foreign nationals have been suspended temporarily. The only exception to this rule is foreign spouses and children of Filipino citizens, diplomatic officials, and workers from international organizations.

In Qatar, all inbound flights are banned. The only exception is cargo and transit flights. The entry ban does not apply to Qatari citizens. Further, the nationals of Qatar are not allowed to exit the country.

In Singapore, all foreigners are prohibited to enter and transit from the country. Timor-Leste has also restricted the entry of all travelers except for residents and nationals of Timor-Leste. The national border of Turkmenistan has also restricted entry to foreign citizens and stateless individuals.

Entry of all foreigners is suspended until further notice in Vietnam. A temporary suspension of entry is also applicable to all overseas Vietnamese residents, their spouses, and children who have been granted a certificate of visa exemption. All flights and land crossings are also suspended in Yemen.

  • Europe, European Union, or Schengen Area

Ravikant is very excited to learn about the travel restrictions applicable in Europe. According to official records, The Isle of Man has closed its borders for all incoming transport. The borders of the country are also closed for foreign nationals.

The Czech Republic has also closed its borders for all foreign nationals. All non-essential travel into the country is banned. However, the borders are open for some essential services. Entry for tourism is not allowed.

Hungary has closed its borders for foreign nationals. Only Hungarian citizens and permanent residents from the EEA are allowed to enter.

  • Oceania

Passengers are not allowed to enter the Marshall Islands. Borders are closed for all non-citizens in Fiji and French Polynesia. Tuvalu has also closed its borders and Vanuatu ports are closed for entry. Only French minors and spouses of nationals of France are allowed to enter New Caledonia.

Plan Your Travel Smartly!

Ravikant has finally understood all the travel restrictions that have been imposed by different countries. He wants to wait till he is fully vaccinated before he can travel. Have you made your travel plans yet?

Buy Insurance - 18002101330